The 2019 Cy Young Awards Go To….

The Baseball Writers Association of America announced the Cy Young Award winners last night, and coming as no surprise, we have a couple of repeat champions.

American League: Justin Verlander, Houston Astros

It was pretty apparent over the course of the season that Verlander was on his way to his second Cy Young, like when he had his third career no-hitter, or when he won his 21st game of the season while reaching his 3,000th career strikeout and 300th strikeout of the season. Verlander last won the Cy Young in 2011 while with the Tigers, and has come in second three times – in 2012, 2016, and 2018.

The only person that I thought could beat him was his teammate Gerrit Cole, who had staggeringly similar badass numbers in terms of wins and ERA over the 2019 season. Cole came in second in voting, and their former teammate, Charlie Morton of the Rays came in third. Verlander led all of MLB with 21 wins and 223 innings pitched, posted a 2.58 ERA, and even managed to toss two complete games. Cole, on the other hand, with his 20 wins, led the AL with a 2.50 ERA and got 326 strikeouts to Verlander’s 300.

National League: Jacob deGrom, New York Mets

For the second straight season, Jacob deGrom takes home the Cy Young for the National League. Despite winning just 11 games in 32 starts this season, his teeny 2.43 ERA and NL-leading 255 strikeouts in 204 innings pitched were pretty dang impressive. Without having a DH and having to swap out the pitcher for a pinch hitter, it’s harder to rack up a ton of wins in the National League – and the Mets just didn’t have the bats to always support their phenomenal pitching staff (along with Noah Syndergaard and Marcus Stroman).

Jacob earned 29 of the 30 top votes in the BBWAA voting, with the only other first place vote going to the third place winner – the Dodgers’ Hyun-Jin Ryu. Max Scherzer, who has taken home three Cy Young Awards himself, came in second in votes. Scherzer had very similar numbers in comparison to deGrom, also with 11 wins, posted a 2.92 ERA, and 243 strikeouts.

What say you, readers? Leave a comment below.